The Meaning Behind The Song: When the Night Comes by Joe Cocker

As a Music Journalist, I have come across countless songs that have left a lasting impact on me. One such song that has always stood out is “When the Night Comes” by Joe Cocker. I remember stumbling upon this song at a friend’s house, and from the moment I heard it, I was captivated.

The lyrics of “When the Night Comes” are beautifully crafted, effectively conveying a sense of longing and the desire for companionship. The opening lines, “Hold on I’ll be back for you it won’t be long, But for now there’s something else that’s calling me,” evoke a bittersweet feeling of anticipation. It’s as if the narrator wants to be with someone but is torn between their current commitments and the yearning for that special someone.

The chorus further emphasizes this longing, with Cocker singing, “I just want to be the one you run to, I just want to be the one you come to, I just want to be there with someone when the night comes.” These lines speak of the deep desire to be someone’s refuge and source of comfort in the darkest moments.

The verses paint a picture of two spirits seeking solace in each other, willing to leave everything behind to be together. The lyrics, “Two spirits in the night, We can leave before the morning light,” symbolize the freedom and adventure that can be found when two individuals come together, unburdened by the fear of what lies ahead.

The song captures the essence of finding refuge in a relationship. It’s about creating a safe space where all worries and cares can be put aside, allowing both individuals to truly be themselves. The lyrics, “Let’s put all our cares behind us, And go where they’ll never find us,” convey a sense of escapism, a desire to escape the pressures and expectations of the outside world.